Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Roasted Salmon March 5, 2010

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 12:11 pm

I had a mishmash of things in the fridge and cupboard and managed to piece together a very pretty, healthy (though lacking on vegetables) and delicious dinner. Some frozen salmon from the freezer, an almost to old to use bulb of fennel from the fridge, a marinade of staples and a quick roast brought this salmon together. I often find myself wanting to use the same soy sauce based marinade for fish, but I enjoy when I find something new. Served with a side of curried french lentils and I was full for hours.

  • 2 pieces of salmon
  • 2 T. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T. thyme
  • juice from 1/2 an orange
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2-3 T. olive oil
  • salt/pepper
  • several slices of oranges
  • 1 bulb fennel, sliced

Heat the oven (or toaster oven, which is what I used) to 425 degrees. Mix together the marinade and place fish in the dish. I let this sit for about 1/2 hour before placing on a pan, topping with the fennel and oranges and pouring the rest of the marinade over the fish. Roast for about 15 minutes (shorter if the fish isn’t as thick), check to make sure it’s done and serve immediately.

Notes: The original recipe online called for lemons, but I didn’t have any. I also didn’t have balsamic vinegar so I used my cream of balsamic. It all worked out in the end!

Servings: This made 3 servings

 

One Response to “Roasted Salmon”

  1. Jacqueline Says:

    Wonderful recipe and it also look delicious. Let me ask you this question. Are you giving up on this blog has well? Always remember that there are persons who are depending on your inspiration to up lift theirs. Hugs


Leave a Reply

