Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Smoked Turkey Rueben March 2, 2010

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:00 pm

Oh baby! I’m finally getting my appetite back now that I’m in my second trimester. My interest in cooking, let alone something new and untried, dropped dramatically during my first trimester. I stuck to things that I hoped my body would tolerate, safe food! But finally, I’m back in the kitchen, trying new things and throwing together recipes. This one was from The Kitchen Sink and I made it work even for my pregnancy restrictions (just heated the deli meat up first before putting it on my sandwich to grill).

  • 2 cups thinly sliced green cabbage (about 4 oz.)
  • 3/4 cup finely diced kosher dill pickle (from 1 large)
  • 2 tsp. cider vinegar
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (full or low-fat)
  • 3 oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 Tbs. canned or jarred tomato sauce (pure, pureed tomatoes)
  • 8 slices whole wheat bread (I used rye bread)
  • 12 thin slices smoked turkey
  • 8 thin slices Swiss cheese
  • 2 Tbs. unsalted butter, softened

In a medium bowl, toss the cabbage and pickles with the vinegar and 1/2 tsp. salt. Transfer to a colander, set it in the sink, and let sit for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, pulse the yogurt, sun-dried tomatoes, and tomato sauce in a food processor until the tomatoes are finely chopped. (I just diced everything up and mixed together since I didn’t want to dirty the food processor.)

Squeeze the cabbage mixture to remove any excess liquid and return to the bowl. Toss the cabbage with 2 Tbs. of the yogurt mixture.

Spread the remaining yogurt mixture on one side of each slice of the bread. Assemble the sandwiches, layering the turkey, cabbage, and cheese over 4 slices of the bread and topping with the other 4 slices. Spread the outsides of the sandwiches with the butter.

Heat a large grill pan, skillet, or stovetop griddle over medium-low heat. Working in batches if necessary, put the sandwiches in the pan, top with a grill press or heavy skillet to weigh them down, and cook until browned, 2 to 4 minutes. Flip and cook the other side until browned and the cheese is melted, 2 to 4 minutes more. Cut the sandwiches in half and serve.

Notes: A lovely and lighter version of the classic Rueben, which Chris and I both love.

Servings: As many as you want!

 

One Response to “Smoked Turkey Rueben”

  1. Christine Says:

    Shoot, now I’m hungry! That sounds amazing – and I’m glad you’re feeling better!


Leave a Reply

