Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Plum and Apple Crisp July 6, 2009

Filed under: Dessert — cookinghussy @ 3:30 pm

Plum and Apple Crisp Toaster Oven

My favorite desserts tend to be fruit based and easy to through together. Not a lot of measuring or planning ahead. Fruit crisps fit this description perfectly. I got 10 plums for 1 dollar at the store and got tired of just eating them as a snack. I figured the plums would be over powering if I made a crisp with just them, so I added in some apple to mellow it out. Turned out very well and made 6 individual sized desserts!

Plum and Apple Crisp1

  • 6 small plums – diced
  • 2 apples – peeled and diced
  • 1/2 C. flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 C. oats
  • 4 T. brown sugar
  • Salt
  • butter (I used about half a stick, but you could probably use more)

Dice up the apples and plums and portion off into the dishes. Mix in a pint or two of brown sugar into the fruit and a little bit of salt as well. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, oats, sugar and salt (1 tsp.). Then use a fork to mash in the butter. Top each dish with this mixture and put a little extra butter right on top if you want to make it more crispy. Bake in an over at 350 for about 15 minutes, or a toaster oven at 350 for a bit longer (maybe 20 or so). Enjoy with ice cream!

Notes: I never use a recipe for this. It changes everytime based on what fruit I have. I also don’t actually measure the oats or flour. Ooops. I’m not a baker.

Servings: 6 dishes.

 

Leave a Reply

