Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Swiss Chard with Red Pepper & Sundried Tomatoes February 26, 2009

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 7:22 pm

swiss-chard-with-red-pep-and-tomato

We got our first box from Fresh Picks today! Instead of doing a CSA this year, I’ve decided to go with Fresh Picks which will deliver us a box of organic, locally grown produce everyweek for the whole year. I’m not totally sure where the produce comes from in the middle of winter, but I’m going to find out. What’s different about this box is that they’ll also throw in eggs, or tofu, or something fun and non produce each week. It’s a box of surprise food every week! Food nerd. Anyway, in the first box we got mustard greens, swiss chard, green onions, cabbage, eggs, carrots and something else I can’t remember. For dinner tonight I made the swiss chard and an egg, along with a bag of mixed grains/couscous I got from Trader Joes and toasted up a slice of almost old bread. Yum.

  • I bunch swiss chard – cleaned well and torn into pieces
  • 2 cloves garlic – diced
  • 6-8 sun dried tomato halves – soaked in hot water and sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper – sliced
  • salt / pepper
  • olive oil

Heat oil in a pan and toss in the garlic, red pepper and sun dried tomatoes. Cook for a couple minutes before tossing in the swiss chard and seasonings. Cook on medium until everything is all wilted. Serve a top the grain or pasta of your choice.

Notes: For us it was kind of a main entree along with the egg, but it’s also a side. Vegetables, so versatile.

Servings: 2 big servings

 

One Response to “Swiss Chard with Red Pepper & Sundried Tomatoes”

  1. Esther Says:

    I just bought swiss chard last week for the first time, eager to know if I could ever enjoy it the way I do spinach. I have to say, it really held its own.

    I’m excited to buy swiss chard again and try it like this. Israeli couscous? Mmm.


Leave a Reply

