Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Rosemary-Lemon White Bean Dip February 13, 2009

Filed under: Appetizer,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 11:27 am

white-bean-rosemary-dip-bowl

Another lunch box special! Bento boxing friend Emily mentioned a white bean dip she made, or maybe I made that up. It’s been a few weeks, clearly. But after having this real (imaginary?) conversation, I decided I wanted to make some white bean dip! Thanks to Mark Bittman, I found an excellent and simple looking recipe to try out. I even made some homemade whole wheat crackers to go with. Recipe coming soon!

white-bean-rosemary-dip

  • 2 C. cooked white beans, like cannelini, drained but moist
  • 3 cloves garlic – peeled
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 C. plus 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 t. minced fresh rosemary (I used dried and used 1 t.)
  • 1/2 bunch fresh parsley (because I had it on hand!)
  • Grated rind of 2 lemons

Put the beans in the container of a food processor with garlic and a healthy pinch of salt. Turn the machine on, and add the 1/4 cup olive oil in a steady stream through the feed tube; process until the mixture is smooth.  Place the mixture in a bowl, and use a wooden spoon to beat in the rosemary, lemon zest and the remaining tablespoon of olive oil. Taste, and add more salt and pepper as needed. Use immediately, or refrigerate for as long as 3 days.

Notes: I ate this with crackers as well as carrots. It would make a great spread for a vegetable sandwich as well.

Servings: 2 cups or 4 lunches and some snacks in between.

 

3 Responses to “Rosemary-Lemon White Bean Dip”

  1. Emily Says:

    Will you post a recipe for the wheat crackers too? And yes, we did have that conversation.

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    You bet your britches I’ll post that recipe!

  3. Esther Says:

    I made this about a month ago, and I forgot to post a comment until now.

    The dip was good, but I should have stuck to the recipe more closely. I went wild and added an extra clove of garlic, which I don’t recommend, especially if you don’t have enough beans to balance the flavor. After a few days, the flavor settled enough that I added breadcrumbs and made little falafel-type patties that I baked in the oven and ate with some vegetables and quinoa. Yum.


Leave a Reply

