Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Parsley and Pepper Quinoa Salad February 11, 2009

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 10:18 pm

quinoa-parsley-pepper-salad

Okay okay okay. I’m not even going to talk about my blogging absence! It made you sad, I know, but now I’m back and I have a back log of recipes. Prepare yourself!

A couple of my friends make bento box lunches. My friend Emily kept talking about this wonderful pepper and quinoa salad that she made for her lunches and I gave it a try, with the red quinoa I had on hand. Emily forwarded me this recipe she used. It was lovely and makes for healthy lunches that your co-workers are sure to ask about.

  • 1 C. dry quinoa (= about 3 cups of cooked quinoa)
  • 2 C. water (or vegetable broth, which I used)
  • 1 vegetable stock cube (if using water, I didn’t)
  • 1 large red or yellow sweet pepper
  • 2 small hot chili peppers *
  • 1 garlic clove
  • olive oil for cooking
  • 1 large bunch parsley (about 1 1/2 cups chopped and loosely packed into your measuring cup)

Dressing:

  • 2 to 3 T.. lemon juice (start with 2 and add more to your taste)
  • 2 T.. extra virgin olive oil
  • dash soy sauce
  • salt, pepper

“To cook the quinoa: Rinse it briefly under running water, then put into a pot with the 2 cups of water and the vegetable stock cube. Bring to a boil, then put on a lid and lower the heat. Let cook for about 15 minutes until the water is almost all gone. Take off the heat and let rest with the lid on for about 5 minutes. Drain off any excess water (there shouldn’t be much at all) by putting the quinoa in a sieve or colander and shaking. Put into a bowl to cool down.

In the meantime, chop up the sweet peppers; de-seed and chop up the chili pepper*. Finely chop the garlic clove. Sauté the vegetables with olive oil and a sprinkling of salt, until the vegetables are limp. Take off the heat.

Chop the parsley up finely.

Combine the dressing ingredients and mix in well with the quinoa. Add the cooked vegetables. Add the parsley (you should add it when the quinoa is not hot any more, to preserve the bright green color) and mix well.

Taste, and add a little more salt, pepper or lemon juice as you see fit.”

Notes: * I did not have peppers so didn’t add them! This was a great dish to make on Sunday and enjoy for lunch during the week, along with some other things, which you will see soon.

Servings: 4 servings

 

3 Responses to “Parsley and Pepper Quinoa Salad”

  1. Karla Says:

    Yay you’re back! I love Kateri cooking!

  2. rodger routh Says:

    Kateri,
    just looking at your food is beautiful!!
    love, mom

  3. Emily Says:

    This is my favorite salad EVER, I think.


Leave a Reply

