Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Turkey Broth January 23, 2009

Filed under: Soup/Stew — cookinghussy @ 11:34 am

turkey-broth-scraps

This picture is really quite gross. It’s all the scraps of turkey carcas and vegetables left over from the turkey stock I made last weekend.  But let me tell you, it was worth it. This is the first time I’ve made stock and I think it turned out well. One turkey carcas, a bunch of old vegetables and 4 hours later and *BAM* I’ve got 12ish cups of turkey stock! I didn’t really use a recipe, just read a few recipes online and got the general idea. The turkey is from a month or so ago when I roasted it. It has been in the freezer since then, wait. turkey-broth

  • 1 turkey carcas (gross!)
  • 2 onions or bits of left over onion
  • 4 sad, no longer crunchy carrots
  • 5 sticks of celery – washed
  • Salt
  • dried thyme

In a big stock pot (It all makes sense now. It’s a stock pot because it’s so big, big enough to make stock !), pour in a bunch* of water and all the vegetables and turkey. Throw in some salt*. Heat to a boil and then turn down to a medium simmer. Simmer away for 4 hours. Taste the liquid. Need more salt and pepper? Add it now and continue simmering a bit. Once it’s perfect, use a fine mesh strainer and strain the broth. It should be nice and clear when you are done. Toss out the scraps. You can use the broth immediately or put it in the freezer. I did both! I also let it sit to cool a bit and scrapped off some of the fat.

* No idea how much water or salt to use. I may have used too much water, but really, I thought it tasted good so that’s what matters.

Notes: I can’t wait to do this with the next rotisserie chicken I get from the store. So thrifty and delicious.

Servings: I got about 12 – 15 cups of stock. Way too much from one turkey? Maybe, but again, it seemed good to me!

 

Leave a Reply

