Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Peanut Butter and Kale Soup December 30, 2008

Filed under: Soup/Stew,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 9:16 am

peanut-butter-kale-soup

I made this soup before we left for Christmas. I was looking for something lighter, but full of flavor. Any peanut butter flavored soup tastes great to me, but the addition of the roasted tomatoes and the healthy kale put this at the top of my list. I used the recipe found on Cooking from A to Z in a post which features 3 types of soup.peanut-butter-and-kale-soup-2

  • 1 medium sized onion – diced
  • 2 cloves garlic – minced
  • 1 T minced fresh ginger
  • 5 C. water
  • 5 T unsweetened chunky peanut butter
  • 2 small to medium potatoes
  • 1 can slow roasted (fire roasted) tomatoes
  • 2- 3 cups shredded kale
  • 2 t dried thyme
  • 2 t ground cumin
  • 1 t freshly ground black pepper
  • salt to taste

In a bit of oil, saute the ginger, garlic and onion for several minutes. Add diced potatoes and cook for about 10 minutes. Throw in the peanut butter, kale, tomatoes and seasonings (and 5 cups water) and heat to a boil before simmering for 15 minutes. Once potatoes are cooked through, blend or process the soup. I only did about half and left the other half chunky, mixing them together. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Notes: Again, this makes for a great healthy soup!

Servings: 4 – 6 bowls

 

5 Responses to “Peanut Butter and Kale Soup”

  1. Layne Says:

    Wow, what a strange combo but it sounds so, SO good! I love peanuts and peanut butter in anything. I’ll have to try this one!

  2. Emily Says:

    What is your go-to peanut butter and where do you get it?

  3. cookinghussy Says:

    Out of convenience, I use Smucker’s natural peanut butter (smooth or chunky) which is in a glass jar. Any natural peanut butter will do though and I’m sure there are better tasting brands that Smucker’s, it’s just that Harvestime only sells that one.

  4. Emily Says:

    So I made this soup…it is really good (I’ve been eating it for days!) but I think I probably should have processed more of it at the end because I would have liked a slightly thicker consistency. ALSO, I’m an idiot, and I misread your recipe and thought it required 5 CUPS of peanut butter. In hindsight I realize that amount is totally illogical, but you know me and maths! Anyway, I bought three jars of peanut butter, opened them all and then realized my mistake. Sweet. SO if you need any peanut butter in the near future, let me know.

  5. cookinghussy Says:

    OH MY GOD. Thank goodness you did not use that much peanut butter.

    Glad you liked it!


Leave a Reply

