Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Turkey! December 15, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:54 am

turkey

I have a couple healthy recipes waiting to be posted, but I just had to post my turkey roasting adventure today. I roasted it yesterday and it was the first turkey I’ve ever cooked.turkey-head-on

I have to say that rinsing and preparing the raw turkey was gag-inducing. Pulling out the neck and the bag of gizzards …  Ick. But I cleaned it up on Friday evening and put it into a big pot of seasoned salt water to brine. turkey-carving

Yesterday I roasted it, as instructed by Alton Brown. The bring I kind of made up myself, but the roasting instructions I followed off this recipe.turkey-on-plate

As I had hoped, the turkey browned nicely, smelled amazing, was cooked to the perfect temerature and was all around ‘mmm’ worthy. My brother and sister-in-law came over to enjoy the turkey and got to watch me attempt to carve this thing.  Marti took the pictures for me! So, if you are planning on cooking a turkey for Christmas, or just for giggles, I highly recommend the brine!turkey-dinner

  • 1 10-12 pound turkey – thawed if frozen
  • 1 C. kosher salt
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar
  • 2 t. five spice
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 T. whole all spice
  • onions/apples/lemons
  • vegetable oil

To brine the turkey, start by boiling about 3-4 cups water with the salt, sugar, and spices. Pour this mixture into a big pot (that your turkey will fit into) and add some ice to cool it, then more cold water along with the turkey. Make sure to clean the turkey first by pulling out the neck and gizzards and rinsing well! Put a lid on and put into the fridge for 1-2 days.

On the day you cook the turkey, take the bird out of the brine and rinse well. Pat dry with paper towels. Stuff the turkey with onions/apples/lemons or just onions. Coat liberally with vegetable oil. Heat oven to 500 degrees. Place the turkey on a roasting pan or get creative and use a cooling rack and a cookie sheet, like me. Roast the turkey for 30 minutes at 500 degrees and then turn the oven down to 350. The turkey should cook for 2-2.5 hours. Use a meat thermometer to check the temperature. The turkey is fully cooked at 151 degrees (make sure to check the thickest part of the turkey breast). Let sit for 15 minutes, covered with a big bowl or tin foil. Carve your turkey, carefully, and enjoy. Please note that the turkey will oose liquid when you are carving and it will go all over the counter. Try to prepare for that.

Notes: I liked roasting this turkey. I will like all the left over turkey sandwiches too.

Servings: No idea. So many servings!

 

Leave a Reply

