Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Black Bean and Pumpkin Soup December 1, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Soup/Stew — cookinghussy @ 10:16 am

pumpkin-blackbean-soup-pot

I made a soup with pumpkin! Boy oh boy was it delicious too. I got a pumpkin in our final CSA box (which was weeks ago, I’ve got a backlog of recipes to post) and wanted to roast it and puree it and use it in something. Smitten Kitchen’s black bean soup with pumpkin looked perfect. I think I didn’t have enough pumpkin for this soup and the flavor of pumpkin was very low, but it was great regardless.

pumpkin-blackbean-soup

  • Three 15 1/2 ounce cans black beans – rinsed and drained
  • 1 C. drained canned tomatoes – chopped
  • 1 1/4 C. chopped onion
  • 1/2 C. minced shallot
  • 4 garlic cloves – minced
  • 1 T. plus 2 t. ground cumin
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter
  • 4 C. broth (I used vegetable or chicken, can’t remember, but it called for beef broth)
  • About 1 cup pumpkin puree (recipe called for one 16 ounce can, or 1.5 cups)
  • 1/2 C. dry red wine
  • 1/2 C. diced salami (It called for ham, but the deli line was SO LONG. Salami tasted good.)
  • 3 to 4 T. Sherry vinegar

Start by mashing together the beans and tomatoes. You could use a food processor or use your muscles and use a potato masher, as I did.

In a big soup pot, saute the onion, shallot, garlic, cumin, salt and pepper with butter over medium heat until onions start to brown.  Stir in the bean/tomato mix along with the broth, pumpkin and red wine. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer for 25 minutes.  Just before serving mix in the salami and sherry. Serve with a nice dark beer and some whole grain rye bread.

Notes: Next time, more pumpkin.

Servings: 9 cups, or 5-6 big entree sized servings

 

4 Responses to “Black Bean and Pumpkin Soup”

  1. Emily Says:

    Wow, that sounds awesome. I’m definitely making it, maybe tonight. Is sherry vinegar expensive? I may substitute more wine instead…

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    I made this a few weeks ago and as I typed in sherry vinegar I thought, Did I actually put that in there? I don’t think I did. It’s cheap though.

  3. akentuckycreation Says:

    Your blog automatically referenced my blog on my Pumpkin Latte. Interesting recipe. I have a lot of other recipes on my blog and I hope you will visit.

    http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

    Lee

  4. Emily Says:

    This is a hearty and delicious soup. Your recipe made a ton. I’ve been eating it all week!


Leave a Reply

