Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Pear, Blue Cheese, and Walnut Salad with Balsamic Vinigarette November 21, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 3:08 pm

fruit-cheese-nut-salad

This salad was one of the first things I made from Bittman’s new cookbook. I love that the book just gives me new, basic ideas, like the fruit, nut, cheese salad. There is also a list of different varieties. I get bored with my green salads loaded with raw vegetables. This was a nice reminder after getting stuck in a rut.  I also made the balsamic vinegarette, which is just so easy and simple and doesn’t have any of that crap that’s in the store dressings (although I still buy and use those…)

  • mixed greens
  • ripe pear
  • blue cheese – crumbled
  • walnuts

Just plate the greens and toss on the pear, blue cheese and walnuts. Top with your favorite vinegarette and enjoy with a side of fresh bread.

Notes: I ate this kind of salad for a week after this. So. Good.

Servings: As many as you want to make. Duh.

 

Leave a Reply

