Cooking Hussy

Tasty

How to Cook Everything: Vegetarian November 20, 2008

Filed under: Misc. — cookinghussy @ 2:55 pm

htce-veg-book

I got a new cookbook. I don’t use cookbooks that often. I love Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking, for the recipes as well as the beautiful book and pictures. Beyond that, I find recipes from cooking blogs or websites. One of the sites I follow is Mark Bittman’s from the NYTimes.com. Bitten. I also got into the PBS show, On The Road Again, where Bittman, Mario Batali, Gwyneth Paltrow and some attractive Spanish actor named Claudia Bassols drive all over Spain and eat and talk about food. htce-veg-text

So, I decided to buy a Mark Bittman cookbook. The one that interested me the most was the vegetarian cookbook. I really do try to limit the amount of meat I cook for many reasons. I’ve recently read Michael Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma and am now reading In Defense of Food. All of these things are just pointing me towards more whole foods and less meat. This new cookbook covers everything! I am actually sitting down and just reading the cookbook. He has so much information on the basics of food. And it will be perfect for next summer’s CSA. When I get some random vegetable that I really don’t know what to do with, I’ll just go to the back of the book and find 5-10 great recipes.htce-veg-size

This book is a tomb. That’s the only reason for this picture. It’s giant. I’m already marking recipes I want to try and have made 5 out of this thing already. Hurray for new cookbooks!

 

Leave a Reply

