Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Cheesy Potato Spoon Bread November 11, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 10:18 am

cheese-y-potato-spoon-bread

Cheesy potato spoon bread. This title is an acurate description of this creation.  I’ve had this recipe from 101cookbooks.com sitting in my recipe list for ages, waiting for a decadent holiday meal. Let me just say that this is a messing dish, that uses up pots and bowls and electric mixers and oh my gosh I did so many dishes. Was it worth it? I *think* so. Actually, I’m not sure. It was good, but the amount of prep work and the amount of cheese within was maybe a bit too much for me to want to make this again. I’m going to copy and paste Heidi’s recipe since it’s so detailed and I followed it pretty closely. This can be made in individual ramikins, but I didn’t have enough so I used a big pan.

4 cups leftover mashed potatoes
1 cup all-purpose flour
3T butter
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
salt to taste
1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 large eggs, beaten
1/4 cup minced parsley
6 oz. Pepper Jack Cheese, shredded
8 ounces fat-free cream cheese, softened

1. Preheat oven to 425F. Generously butter  2-qt. souffle dish or casserole.

2. If using cold mashed potatoes, warm in large nonstick skillet or saucepan over medium heat until very hot, stirring frequently to prevent scorching.

3. Meanwhile, bring 1 cup water to a boil. Put flour, margarine, onion powder, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper in mixing bowl, and pour boiling water over mixture. Using electric mixer on low, beat for 1 minute, and add very hot mashed potatoes. Beat again well. Add eggs, and beat again, until thoroughly combined. Set aside to cool slightly.

4. Mix parsley, shredded cheese and cream cheese in mixing bowl. Put 4 cups into prepared casserole. Make a well in center, and spoon in parsley-cheese filling. Top with remaining potato mixture.

5. Bake 50 minutes. Let cool 15 minutes before serving. Garnish with sprigs of parsley if desired.

Notes: This was just… so much! So much cheese. It was good, I swear, but… you know. Cheesy.

Servings: 8 + leftovers

 

Leave a Reply

