Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Mustard and Marjoram Baked Ham November 7, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:49 am

mustard-and-marjoram-baked-ham

Okay, so this picture looks gross. The ham actually looks pretty gross. But look away for a minute and let me just tell you that I had a dinner party last Sunday for 8 people.  I pulled out the card table, scrounged up enough folding chairs, covered the tables with old curtains (they were clean! no one knew!), and we all had a really great time. But when I make food for 8 people and spend all afternoon cooking and baking, at the end when everyone comes over, I tend to relax. And this past Sunday I only took one photo of each item of food. The picture of this ham is gross but it’s the only one I have. The ham tasted great, I swear! Don’t judge me for relaxing. I got this recipe from Bon Appetit and it was pretty good.

  • 1 1/2 C. whole-grain Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 C. (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 3 T. dried marjoram
  • 2 T. minced garlic
  • 2 T. frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
  • 1 t. ground black pepper
  • 1 9- to 10-pound fully cooked bone-in ham (shank or butt end)
  • 1 C. red wine (Recipe calls for Madeira wine but I didn’t buy that.)
  • 1 C. orange juice

Mix the first ingredients in a bowl. Line a roasting pan (or cookie sheet if you don’t have a roasting pan) with a double layer of foil. If you have an unsliced ham, score in 1-inch-wide diamond patter. Place ham on the pan and pour in wine and 1 cup of orange juice into the bottom of the pan. Bake ham at 400 for 45 minutes or until heated through.

Take the pan out of the oven and increase the heat to 450. Spread mustard mixture generously over top and sides of ham. Move back into oven and bake until mustard coating is golden brown, about 35 minutes.

Transfer ham to platter and serve.

Notes: Okay, so this ham was fine, but I think I don’t like the pre-sliced variety. It ends up kind of unraveling during the cooking process and then drying out a bit. And there is no fat on the outside of the ham, which is sad b/c it adds flavor. I’d like to try baking a big ham again but with a better piece of meat and with a different glaze. I do like mustard, but this was a bit much.

Servings: 8 for dinner and a whole lot of leftovers. Ham bone is in the freezer waiting for split pea soup.

 

4 Responses to “Mustard and Marjoram Baked Ham”

  1. Emily Says:

    It was delicious, and I didn’t mind the glaze at all! I wish I had some of this ham to gnaw on right now! At my desk! At 10am!

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    Jeesh, thank Em!

  3. Grandma Joyce Says:

    Kateri, if you make the split pea soup and it turns out well, let me know what kind of peas you get. I have made it twice and even after soaking the peas all night and cooking them all day, they still stay in shape and it does not make very good soup! Your parents can verify this as I had them over for it one night…it just doesn’t get thick. Love ya, Grams Joyce

  4. cookinghussy Says:

    I’ll keep you posted Grandma! I think it’s on the list for next week. I think people use an immersion blender to make it creamy, or pour some into a blender at the end. I’ll try and let you know!


Leave a Reply

