Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Delicata Squash and Celery Root Mash October 24, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 9:45 am

Delicata Squash. I got two of these new-to-me squash a few weeks ago and went about finding a recipe. I also had a big, ugly looking celery root waiting for me. All I know about celery root is that they are ugly, but when mixed with mashed potatoes, are delightful. I came across this puree recipe on The Wednesday Chef and it perfectly matched what I had on hand. I ate this as a side dish for several dinners and lunches. The flavor was just beautiful with the mix of sweet squash and the flavor of celery.

  • 2 delicata squash
  • 1 celery root – peeled and diced
  • 2 cloves garlic – diced
  • 1/2 c. cream (I used half and half)
  • Salt and Pepper

Carefully cut both squash in half and scrap out the pulp and seeds. Drizzle some olive oil on top of each one. Roast at 375 on a cookie sheet for about 40 minutes. Pull out and let cool before scrapping out the inside. Make sure to taste it, it’s good.

While the squash is roasting, boil the celery root until it’s soft. This takes about 30 minutes. I have to tell you that I cheated and microwaved mine in a bowl of water for about 5-10 minutes. In a pot on the stove, heat up the cream with the garlic until just warm.

In a mixing bowl, mash the squash, celery root, warm cream and salt and pepper. I used a potato masher because I didn’t want to dirty the food processor. What I made was more mash than puree. I didn’t mind the texture at all.

Notes: A really great flavor. This would make a perfect side dish for the holidays and is something a little different and not too unhealthy.

Servings: 5 – 6 side dishes

 

Leave a Reply

