Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Bean and Squash Mole October 19, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Soup/Stew,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:15 pm

Holy mole was this good! (Yeah, I couldn’t hold that back.) I’ve never made mole before but I’ve seen it made at the Chopping Block. Mole is a mexican sauce that includes chili peppers, ground nuts, spices and chocolate. Chocolate, in soup! I saw 101cookbooks.com’s recipe for bean mole with roasted squash and new I’d have to try it. I adjusted the recipe for what I had or could find.

  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 1/2 C. carnival squash
  • 7 – 8 big leaves of kale
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 onion – diced
  • 3 peppers – diced (I used one jalepeno, and two other spicy peppers from my CSA)
  • 2 cloves garlic – minced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 t. paprika
  • 1 ounce almonds – ground
  • 2 ounces 70% dark chocolate – chopped
  • salt

Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Slice and lay on a cookie sheet and spray with oil. Roast at 400 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes. Let cool and cut squash into bite sized pieces. I did this a day before I made the mole.

In a large pot, melt the butter. Toss in the onion and peppers and saute for 20 minutes. Add the garlic for a few minutes more before adding in the tomatoes and paprika. Cook for about 15 minutes before adding the beans, almonds, chocolate, squash, kale and salt. Stir everything together and mix in a bit of water if needed. The recipe then says to bake in the oven for 2 hours, but I just let it simmer for about an hour on the stove top and it seems to work just fine. Serve and enjoy!

Notes: I used the 2 ounces of chocolate, but the chocolate came through a bit more than I liked. Just a tad. Maybe use one square less next time. Very very filling meal!

Servings: 5 – 6 big servings

 

Leave a Reply

