Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Warm Cabbage and Apple Slaw October 6, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 4:26 pm

It’s fall people. The apples are here! If anyone was curious, my favorite apple is the honeycrisp apple. If you are too lazy to click on that link, let me just tell you that the honeycrisp apple was cultivated in Minnesota and is a sweet and crisp apple perfect for eating raw. Delicious. Now on to this recipe. In fact, I have no idea what kind of apples I used for this since I made it over two weeks ago. I’m thinking they were some small apples I got through my CSA. I think any apple will do! It’s a great recipe to use up some purple cabbage that isn’t a cold slaw. And it’s so pretty! I found and used this recipe on a blog called Eggs on Sunday.

  • 1 head purple cabbage – sliced
  • 3 – 4 small apples – peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion – sliced
  • oil
  • splash of cider vinegar
  • pinch of sugar (splenda!)
  • salt/pepper
  • top with chopped fresh parsley

Heat a large skillet and pour in a little oil. Saute the onion first and cook until soft and starting to brown. Add apples for another minute. Now add the cabbage, vinegar, 1/4 cup water, sugar. Cook and continue to stir around until all the cabbage is softer, but still with a little crunch. Here is where you will realize fully that you indeed need a large skillet. I’m not kidding! LARGE. Season and serve with fresh parsley on top.

Notes: Great recipe and I imagine I’ll make it again next fall when I get that purple cabbage and a bag full of apples.

Servings: Many side servings, maybe 6-8 servings

 

Leave a Reply

