Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Acorn Squash with Spicy Turkey Sausage and Rice October 2, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:04 am

Fall is here! It’s in the 50s and 60s and we are getting some form of squash each week in our CSA box. I’ve never cooked with acorn squash before, only pumpkin and butternut (yum). I actually have a spaghetti squash sitting on my counter right now. I have no idea what I’m going to do with that as all the recipes I’ve seen look kind of gross. Anyway, the acorn squash is not gross. Especially when stuffed with spicy turkey sausage, brown rice and other delicious things. This is one of those meals that I can tell Chris wasn’t terribly excited about at first. But when he started eating he couldn’t stop exclaiming how good it actually was. I won’t go so far as to EXCLAIM about this, but it was definitely tasty, filling and pretty health. Oh, and I got the recipe here from Culinary in the Desert.

  • 1 acorn squash – cut in half
  • olive oil
  • 8 ounces (I used three links) spicy Italian turkey sausage, casing removed (that part is gross)
  • 1/2 chopped red onion
  • 1 red bell pepper – diced
  • 1 clove garlic – minced
  • salt/pepper
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice *

Cut open the squash (carefully! This is why those very expensive knives are important in a kitchen, so you don’t chop your finger off trying to cut open a squash.) and scoop out the inside. Place open side down on a plate and cook in the microwave for about 10 minutes, or until tender. I rarely use the microwave to cook anything, but with the squash this was the best way as it didn’t take forever.

In a skillet, cook the sausage until brown. Remove to a paper towel covered plate. In the same skillet, saute the onions, red pepper, garlic and salt/pepper until soft. Add back the sausage and turn off the heat.

When the acorn squash is cool, scoop out the inside leaving about 1/4 inch shell. Add the squash to the sausage mixture. Mix all together with the rice and then stuff the squash shells. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes on a cookie sheet.

Notes: * Let me talk about the rice I used. When I ran an all women’s 10k this summer, there was a box of Success Brown Rice in the goodie bag. It’s been in my kitchen for a while, just waiting. I cooked it for this recipe, but what is weird is that the rice is in a BAG, a plastic bag. And you are supposed to cook the rice in the bag. Boil – in – a -bag. The site says it offers “similar” nutritional benefits to long-cooking brown rice. Uh, okay. Anyway, I thought the whole idea was sick. I boiled the rice out of the bag. I will never buy this product but will mock it.

Servings: 2 dinner servings. Lots of left over rice/sausage stuffing.

 

3 Responses to “Acorn Squash with Spicy Turkey Sausage and Rice”

  1. mkwewer Says:

    Hey there. When I made this, I used the leftover stuffing to make “porcipines.” Do you remember those? They were rice and ground beef rolled into meatballs and simmered in tomato soup? Very popular in the early 80’s when I was a kid. It was really good…two meals, little work….try it.

  2. Rachel Says:

    I made this tonite but substituted seitan-chorizo for the sausage, and it was delicious, easy and very filling!

  3. cookinghussy Says:

    mkwewer – that sounds like a great way to use up the leftover stuffing. I’ll have to try it next time.

    Rachel – I’ve never used seitan before. It’s on my list!


Leave a Reply

