Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Tropical Icebox Cake – 1 Year Anniversary! September 28, 2008

Filed under: Dessert — cookinghussy @ 8:08 pm

Wheee! Ice cream cake for the Cooking Hussy’s One Year Anniversary!

This cake was so much fun to make. Ice cream and fruit and real whipped cream, with rum!

And do you see the gingersnap cookie layers? Oh, those are the best. I got this recipe from 101cookbooks. Clearly, I needed the ice cream layer to be thicker. Oh well, next time. But THIS time, the cake was made and eaten and enjoyed.

In celebration of, uh, me following through with this blog for a whole year, I’d like to ask you, reader, to comment. It’s scary, I know. But I’ll make it easy. Just say “Hi Cooking Hussy!” and tell me what your favorite ingredient is. Yes, favorite ingredient. My favorite ingredient, that makes any recipe better, is nuts. This tropical icebox cake has macadamia nuts. BAM. Instantly better. So, I’m serious about this. Just say hi in the comments section! Grandma? Pretty pregnant Karla? Ben?! Christopher? Jennifer in Turkey? Random Grinnellians? HI!

I am literally copying and pasting from Heidi’s recipe on 101cookbooks.com since I followed it exactly.

“Gingersnap Crust: Place 2 1/2 cups loosely crumbled gingersnaps, 5T melted butter, and 3T sugar into a food processor and blend until mixture is the texture of coarse sand.

Ice-cream Layer: Soften 2 1/2 cups high-quality vanilla ice-cream or frozen yogurt and stir in 1 cup chopped pineapple and 2/3 cup loosely crushed macadamia nuts.

Whipped Cream Layer: Whip 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream sweetened with a few tablespoons of sugar and a splash or two of rum. Whip until billowy but not too stiff.

Toasted Coconut: I pan toasted the coconut over medium low heat, roughly a cup or so.

Assemble the cake: Pack a thin layer of ginger snap crust into the base of a 6-inch spring form pan. Slather on a generous layer of ice cream, let it freeze until hard.

Pack another layer of ginger snap crust on top of the ice cream (because I love the buttery sweet gingersnap crumbs), then fill pan to the rim with a thin layer of rum + sugar sweetened whipped cream.

Freeze until hardened, preferably overnight.

Release cake from the pan (don’t cut around edges w/ a knife) and frost the entire cake with a layer of the sweetened whipped cream.

Top with toasted coconut. Put back in the freezer until outside layer of whipped cream is set.”

Notes: Delicious. We had this cake after a little pot roast dinner tonight with Jarrod and Marti. We’ll be eating it all week.

Servings: Um. 5 so far. Then I sent two big pieces home with Jarrod and we still have half of the cake left. So. 14 servings.

 

11 Responses to “Tropical Icebox Cake – 1 Year Anniversary!”

  1. Chris Says:

    This cake was AWESOME! Happy Anniversary Cooking Hussy!!

    -Chris

  2. Emily Says:

    Yay, happy anniversary! Let me first point out that Chris didn’t mention his favorite ingredient, but I’m guessing it would be ice cream. MY favorite is probably sun-dried tomatoes, with black olives as a close second. Deeeeelicious!

  3. Jarrod Says:

    favorite ingredient on cooking hussy: brussel sprouts.
    favorite ingredient in Life: PEANUT BUTTERRRRRR!!

    happy anvo CH!

  4. Marti Says:

    My favorite ingredient: caramelized red onions.

    Ben’s favorite ingredient: hot dogs.

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. Karla Says:

    I can say that the brussel sprouts recipe truly rocked Grant’s world. He asks me to make them several times a month.

    My favorite life ingredient in chipotle peppers. This is the one and only Martha Stewart-ish thing I do. I take the canned chipotle peppers, food process them, and freeze them in tablespoon amounts. Then I add them to everything.

  6. Rachel Says:

    Congratulations, Cooking Hussy!

    I say cheese makes anything tastier!

    On your site, I do enjoy seeing you use tofu. WIth each preparation, I inch closer to trying it myself.

  7. Lisa Says:

    Congratulations!!!
    My favorite ingredient in the whole wide world is fresh tomatoes. Which has me a little bummed that tomato season is almost at an end…

  8. cogsy Says:

    Hi Hussy! I mean Cooking Hussy!

    I think that both pine nuts and spinach make lots of things taste better.

    Happy birthday!

  9. Kim Says:

    Happy anniversary, Hussy! My favorite ingredient is…. cheese! Alone or in combination wtih anything else.

  10. cookinghussy Says:

    Thanks for playing my game! I don’t even like games, but this one was fun, probably because there was no way I could loose.

    I like all of your ingredients. Winners!

  11. Grandma Joyce Says:

    Congratulations ‘Cooking Hussy.’
    Hadn’t checked your blog for awhile, as I’ve been gone, but I see you have been busy! I agree with you that one of my favorite ingredients is nuts, and another is onions. Of course, I don’t even know what most of the ingredients you use are, so I can’t comment on them.
    Nice seeing you today Kateri. Grandma Joyce


Leave a Reply

