Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Slow Roasted Tomatoes September 15, 2008

Filed under: Appetizer,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:00 pm

Okay, there have been slow roasted tomato recipes all over my favorite blogs. They have looked so delicious and the descriptions are even better. I sliced up most of the tomatoes from my bulk box of tomatoes and roasted them on a lazy Sunday last week.

The apartment smelled great all day long. Tomatoes and garlic and olive oil, oh my.

I ended up using some tomatoes in an easy and delicious recipe idea pulled from Smitten Kitchen. Just a mixture of white beans, slices of roasted tomatoes, splash of olive oil, salt and fresh basil.

  • a bunch of fresh tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • salt/pepper
  • garlic cloves

Since I didn’t have small tomatoes (I had monster slicing tomatoes) I had to figure out how to slice them so they weren’t too big for roasting. I ended up slicing of the bottom and the sides, about 1/4 inch, and saving the rest of the tomatoes to put in the freezer for soup (after cutting out the center). I layer 3 cookie sheets with tomatoes, drizzled on a bit of oilve oil, sprinkled salt and pepper, threw on some garlic cloves and let them roast away in the oven at 225 for… about 5 or 6 hours.

Notes: Taking the first bite is the best. Condensed flavor that is almost candy like. I froze a bunch to use later in the fall/winter!

Servings: Depends on how many you roast, silly.

 

Leave a Reply

