Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Fresh Salsa September 14, 2008

Filed under: Appetizer,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 6:24 pm

A few weeks ago my CSA offered bulk tomatoes for an extra payment. I jumped at the opportunity for 10 pounds of fresh, beautiful tomatoes. I’ve been seeing recipes for slow roasted tomatoes that I really wanted to try. I’ll post the recipes and pictures for that tomorrow.

While I was excited for the slow roasted tomatoes, I knew that I had to use several fresh tomatoes for something simple and fresh. This simple fresh salsa recipe was perfect for one of the final warm afternoons grilling at Emily/Ted/Kim’s apartment.

  • two large fresh tomatoes – diced
  • 1/2 onion – diced
  • 3 cloves garlic – diced
  • 1 large bunch cilantro – chopped
  • juice from 1 lime
  • salt and pepper

After chopping and dicing all ingredients, mix together and taste for flavor. Feel free to add a diced jalapeno if you want spicy salsa.

Notes: I didn’t have time to drain the salsa, so it had lots of the tomato juice at the bottom. This didn’t bother me too much.

Servings: Many appetizers

 

Leave a Reply

