Cooking Hussy

Tasty

GUEST CHEF: Kent’s Venison with Mushroom Sauce September 9, 2008

Filed under: Guest Chef,Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:09 am

My brother-in-law, Kent, hunts. I think I teased him about this at my sister’s wedding, but I must say that I benefit greatly from Kent’s hunting trips. Venison. Ground venison, venison steaks, vension sausage, venison jerky (*drool*), venison chops and venison loins. It’s far healthier than beef as it’s much leaner, it’s not a product of the big industrialized beef/pork industry, and it’s plentiful. The trick is cooking venison. Ground venison can replace any recipe for ground beef, but the other varieties (steak, chops, loins) require a little more thought. Use marinades and don’t over cook! While talking to Kent about what to do with some venison loins in the freezer, he told me about this mushroom sauce and sent it my way. He’s made it many times, but as he’s the father of two of the most adorable boys in the world, he doesn’t have much time to photograph his food. Instead, I made and enjoyed it and here’s the proof:

  • 4 Venison loin steaks – grilled

  • 1 package fresh mushrooms – thinly sliced

  • 1/2 C. vidalia onions – thinly sliced (I used red onion since that’s what I had on hand)

  • 3 T. margarine (I used butter.)

  • 1 T. cornstarch

  • 1/2 C. water *

  • 1/4 C. red wine

  • 1 T. beef bouillon*  (I used beef broth instead of the water and beef bouillon since I didn’t have any.)

  • 1 t. tomato paste

  • several dashes Worcestershire sauce

  • salt and pepper to taste

“Saute mushrooms and onions in butter.  Dissolve cornstarch in water and add to mushrooms and onions along with remaining ingredients.  Simmer until mixture thickens.  Serve warm over venison steaks.  Makes 4 servings.

I usually marinade the steaks or loins in red wine, onions, fresh garlic, and ground pepper overnight.  I usually grill the steaks or loins too.  It’s usually about 4-5 minutes per side and keep them rare.”

Notes: Thanks Kent! Chris and I enjoyed this recipe and will definitely be making it again.

 

Leave a Reply

