Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Pistachio Gelato September 2, 2008

Filed under: Dessert — cookinghussy @ 8:22 am

Ah gelato. I far prefer gelato to ice cream. When Chris and I were in London, we stopped at a little gelato shop every single night to get a scoop. I came across this pistachio gelato recipe on Chocolate & Zucchini and it’s been on my list, waiting for me to find unsalted, shelled pistachios. The Whole Foods in Chicago is hard to get to and I knew it was the only place I could find them, so I  asked my brother to run my errands for me and he stopped at the store in Evanston. Success! This recipe is VERY pistachio-y and really not very sweet. But I’ve almost finished it all by now, so it’s clearly still tasty.

  • 1 1/2 C. unsalted, shelled pistachios
  • 1/3 C. sugar
  • 2 C. whole milk
  • 2 T. cornstarch
  • 1 T + 2 t. agave syrup

In a food processor, combine the pistachios and the sugar and process until the mixture is turned into a fine powder. Set aside.

In a small bowl, mix 1/4 cup of milk with the cornstarch and set aside. Combine the rest of the milk (1 3/4 cup) with the pistachio/sugar mixture in a medium saucepan. Heat over medium heat and bring just to a simmer, stirring regularly with a wooden spoon. Add the cornstarch mixture and stir, cooking until the mixture thickens. It’s ready when it coats the wooden spoon. This just took about a minute for me.

Remove from heat and let cool a few minutes. The original recipe says that you can strain the custard at this point through a fine-mesh sieve if you prefer a smooth texture. I did not and the mixture was almost… chewy with all the pistachios in it. Be forewarned!

Stir in the agave syrup and whisk with a fork to blend. Let cool at room temperature, whisking from time to time to prevent a skin from forming. Cover and refrigerate until completely chilled then mix in your ice cream maker.

Notes: At this point, I don’t think this is my ideal pistachio gelato recipe. I’ll keep looking and try again.

Servings: Many

 

2 Responses to “Pistachio Gelato”

  1. Jarrod Says:

    wuz good. what about big pistachio chunks in addition to the food processor pistachio/sugar situation?

    kateri, for you i would stop at any conveniently-situated grocery store directly on my route to/from work!

    for nuts, (any nuts, maybe excluding macadamia) i would dig a hole with my hands to the center of the earth. i hope it doesn’t come to that.

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    Thanks Jarrod. Also, macadamia nuts are overrated. Too hard.

    Yeah, I think straining out the little pieces in the sieve and then roughly chopping some whole pistachios to toss into the ice cream maker would be much better.


Leave a Reply

