Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Green Bean, Feta and Olive Salad August 27, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:46 pm

We received some beautiful green beans last week. Big crunchy green beans. I’d been saving this recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen for when I had some summer green beans on hand. It’s an easy salad full of flavor and pretty filling with the feta and olives. Olive, who knew they were delicious? I forced myself to start eating and enjoying them when I was in France. How can you not eat the cute little olives while sitting at a bistro in Paris? Don’t worry, I’m mocking myself after that sentence too. Now, to the recipe!

  • 1 bunch (a pound maybe) fresh green beans
  • 1 red onion – sliced
  • 1/3 C. black olives – sliced
  • 4 oz. fresh feta cheese

Dressing

  • 1/4 C. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 T. dijon mustard
  • 1 pinch dried thyme
  • 1 pinch dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Start by snapping the ends off the grean beans and then snapping into 1 inch pieces. Rinse first, then steam for several minutes until bright green and still crisp, about 4 minutes. Cool immediately after done in cold ice water to stop the cooking. Drain and let dry.

Mix together the dressing. In a bowl, mix the beans, onion, feta and olives and top with the dress (as much as you want). Eat on a nice hot day.

Notes: I cut way back on the amount of dressing, cheese and olives. It would have been too much for me but I enjoyed it this way very much. Made for a few great lunches.

Servings: 4-5 servings

 

Leave a Reply

