Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Corn, Tomato and Avocado Salad August 27, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:13 am

Almost everyday for lunch I will eat some sort of salad. Many people may not know it, but your body’s insulin sensitivity varies through the day. In the morning and around lunchtime, I need much more insulin to cover 15 carbohydrates than I do in the afternoon or evening. Having type 1 diabetes has taught me a lot about the way my body functions. Anyway, to combat this insulin sensitivity issue, I try (please note that I *try*) to eat a lower carbohydrate lunch. Salads are perfect for this! I can add nuts, cheese, legumes or lean proteins to give them a bit more umph. I came across this blog the other day, The Kitchen Sink, and immediately wanted to try this salad. I ended up eating it all week for lunch and never tired of it. I made some adjustments due to what I had on hand, but it was still great.

  • 4 ears of corn
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 C. cherry tomatoes – halved
  • 1/4 C. Greek yogurt
  • 1 lime – juiced
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper (wow! I recommend using chipolte chili’s instead as she does in her recipe. Cayenne gave this a big kick, which I didn’t mind but I can only imagine was much better with the chipolte chili).
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 avocado – peeled, pitted and chopped

Grill the sweet corn on a grill pan until it gets some color on each side, salt and pepper before cooking. Let cool and carefully slice the corn off the cob. Toss in a big mixing bowl. Mix in the yogurt, lime juice and cayenne pepper (carefully!). Add the sliced tomatoes and avocado and mix well. Serve a top your favorite lettuce and enjoy.

Notes: Again, next time I’ll try the chipolte chili! Still, this was a nice mix of flavors and a fun change from my regular toppings and dressing.

Servings: 4 servings

 

Leave a Reply

