Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Chocolate Sorbet August 27, 2008

Filed under: Dessert — cookinghussy @ 8:47 pm

I made chocolate sorbet. My sister bought Chris an ice cream maker last year and I’ve been collecting recipes  to use this summer. My problem is that I don’t like hassle. I do not want to make actual ice cream, because it involves egg yolks and mixing in hot things with egg yolk while not actually cooking them and on my god it makes me nervous just thinking about it. So, sorbet. Smitten Kitchen  made this recipe and her photos are beautiful. My photos were taken at night, it poor lighting, after I’d had at least one hearty glass of wine. They suck, so go look at Smitten Kitchen and be impressed.

  • 2 1/4 C. water
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1/2 C. splenda (Di-A-Betes)
  • 3/4 C. unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped (I used a mix of both kinds)
  • 1/2 t. vanilla extract

In a large saucepan (make sure it’s large as it boils up, fast) whisk together 1 1/2 cup of water with sugar, splenda, cocoa powder and salt. Bring to boil and let boil for 45 seconds. Remove from heat and mix in the chocolate pieces, stir and stir until everything is melted. Then mix in the vanilla extract and the last 3/4 cup water. Let the mixture cool all the way then mix in your ice cream maker until it’s all done.

Notes: This sorbet is chocolate overload. Is it good? Yes. Will I make it again? Probably not. But I will finish the rest of this batch. Also, the sorbet does scoop well, it’s just that I don’t have an ice cream scoop. It’s on my list.

Servings: Makes 1 quart, many servings

 

Leave a Reply

