Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Smashed Cauliflower with Dill, Feta and Swiss August 21, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:48 am

Cauliflower. I like cauliflower. I like it in curry (a lot), I like it roasted and caramelized and I used to eat it steamed with a little salt.  While I like cauliflower, I’ve never really liked the idea of using it as a substitute for something else, like mashed potatoes. I know that the fiber and carb content are much better for type 1 diabetics, I know! But I happen to like mashed potatoes during the holidays, and I have an insulin pump darn it. But then I found this recipe on Kalyn’s Kitchen, had the ingredients on hand and thought I’d try it out. Fresh dill sounded good and the picture was so pretty! SO GOOD. This shouldn’t be a substitute, this should be it’s own, delicious dish that is not like mashed potatoes, but BETTER.

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1 T. butter
  • 3 – 4 T. fresh dill – chopped (NOT dried dill! please!)
  • 1-2 splashes milk
  • 1/4 C. fresh feta cheese – crumbled
  • 1/4 C. swiss cheese -shredded
  • Salt/Pepper

Steam the cauliflower in a big pot until it’s nice and soft, about 20 minutes. Drain well and put back into the pot. Use a potato masher to mash up the cauliflower. Add in the butter, milk, dill, cheeses and seasonings and continue mashing everything together. Mash and mash. Taste. Need more salt? Add it now and mash again. DONE!

Notes: If you want a more smooth consistency, go ahead and get out your electric mixer and mix it. I am lazy and happen to like this just fine. I will be making it for some winter holiday too.

Servings: 4-5 servings

 

Leave a Reply

