Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Rye Crostini with Roast Beef August 5, 2008

Filed under: Appetizer — cookinghussy @ 10:05 am

This tasty little concoction came from my co-worker’s chef boyfriend. When she told me about it, I knew I would make it because all I’d have to do is spread and layer and cut things. Easy appetizers are my favorites.

Rye bread (I used bread, but rye crisps would be good too)
Apricot jam
Blue cheese
Candied Walnuts (I bought a package because it was hot and I didn’t want to turn on the oven to make candied walnuts, but this can be done.)
Sliced roast beef

Spread apricot jam onto the rye bread. Be generous. Crumble blue cheese all over the jam. Chop up the walnuts into smaller pieces and evenly spread over the bread. Slice the bread into bit sized pieces. Top each piece with a small slice of roast beef.

Notes: Some of these appetizers I made look ‘pretty’, like the one in the picture, by rolling the beef. Others I just laid a slice of beef on top, which didn’t look so great and hid all the yummy cheese and nuts under neither. Do not do this, otherwise your appetizer will look like “meat brownies”. Despite the unfortunate nickname, they were all gone by the end of the night.

Servings: As many as you want.

 

One Response to “Rye Crostini with Roast Beef”

  1. Cogs Says:

    Glad they were a hit! Nick was happy to get a shout out.


Leave a Reply

