Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Walnut and Camembert Stuffed Pastry July 21, 2008

Filed under: Appetizer,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:17 pm

I got some cheese sent to me by Ile De France (*ahem* for free), and I have been eating it for a week. I selected the camembert cheese, a soft and creamy cheese. I’ve eaten this cheese on crackers, I’ve made a grilled cheese (!), and I’ve put a few small pieces on a fried egg. While it’s no diet food, it is tasty.

I finally looked for a recipe to use the rest of this cheese and came across this appetizer recipe on Epicurious.

1/4 cup walnuts – diced
2 t. butter – melted
1 sheet frozen puff pastry (I buy mine from Whole Foods as it’s the only kind without any hydrogenated oils.)
1 pinch salt
1 egg – lightly beaten with 1 T. water (which I forgot and which is why the walnuts fell off the top of mine!)

1/4 cup walnuts – toasted
4 oz camembert

Preheat oven to 400. Roll out slightly thawed puff pastry on a floured counter top. Cut into either circles (or squares, which aren’t as pretty but much easier) and place on parchement paper on a cookie sheet. Here is where I forgot to brush them with the egg. Don’t forget! Dice the walnuts and mix with melted butter and salt. Top the pastry with walnut mixture and bake for 10-15 minutes or until lightly browned.

While baking, mix together the camembert (with the rind cut off) and the walnuts.

Once pastry is done. carefully pull apart each one so that there is a top and a bottom. Scoop some of the cheese and nut mixture onto the bottom piece and top with the other piece. EAT! This would also probably be great with a little honey drizzled on top, but my insulin dependant body thought that might be just a bit much.

Notes: All the walnuts fell off. Oops. It still tasted great!

Servings: 15ish. I forgot to count.

 

Leave a Reply

