Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Dolmades July 8, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 5:00 pm

As I mentioned in the last post, grape leaves have been in our CSA box the past two weeks and our newsletter from Home Grown Wisconsin had a recipe included.I switched a lot of things to use what I had on hand, but they still turned out very well.

8 fresh grape leaves– blanched– dip in boiling water for about 30 seconds
1/2 C. uncooked quinoa
2 T. fresh mint
1 C. Water
1/2 pound venison (I cut up loin)
Pinch of cinnamon, salt, pepper
3 garlic scapes – diced
1 lemon – juice
Mix meat with quinoa, salt, pepper and cinnamon. Remove stem from grape leave (after blanching, can also use jarred leaves in brine)– spread leave on flat surface, shiny side down. Place about 1 teaspoon meat mixture across the leaf about 1/2 inch from stem point. Fold leaf forward toward stuffing. Then fold right side over and roll leaf very tight. When fully rolled, squeeze it to secure. Repeat. Neatly place each stuffed roll in small pot in layers. Pound garlic with mint and salt. Add 1 C. water and juice from lemon and pour over grape leaves. Cover and bring to a boil. Turn down to simmer, cover and cook slowly for 1 hour.
Steam until grape leaves are soft.

Notes: These turned out well! I had left over quinoa and venison that I just cooked in the same pot in the water lemon mixed. I don’t know how often I’ll actually make these, as I don’t often have grape leaves on hand and if I do, I’ll probably make those goat cheese stuffed leaves, but still. It’s good to know I can make dolmades in a pinch.

Servings: 8-9 dolmas

 

2 Responses to “Dolmades”

  1. Lisa Says:

    You’ve motivated me to join a CSA. Perhaps then I’ll be able to cook some of this fancy stuff like you. 🙂

  2. […] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by mattbirt on 2008-12-27 Dolmades https://cookinghussy.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/dolmades/ – bookmarked by 4 members originally found […]


Leave a Reply

