Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Cumin Quinoa and Vegetables July 3, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:56 am

While I do enjoy most recipes on Fat Free Vegan Kitchen’s site, I find that I have to increase the spices on dishes often. This time, I just guessed and doubled most of the spices on the first try and it turned out wonderfully. I switched some things around to use what I had on hand (quinoa instead of brown rice), but that’s just what I do. This made so much food and I ended up bringing in leftovers each day of the week for lunch.

1 1/2 c. quinoa
1 medium eggplant – cut into cubes
1 onion – diced
1 red pepper – diced
1 can diced tomatoes
5 t. ground cumin
1 t. turmeric
1/2 t. ground ginger
1/2 t. cinnamon
Pepper and Salt
1/4 t. cayenne
2 1/2 c. water
1 1/2 c. peas (frozen)

In a large skillet, sautee eggplant for 5+ minutes or until it starts to soften. Add peppers and onion and continue cooking for several minutes. Add the tomatoes (with liquid), spices and salt/pepper and continue cooking for a few more minutes for everything to mix.

In a separate pot, cook the quinoa for about 15 minutes. In a big casserole dish, mix together the quinoa and vegetables. Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes, or until everything is cooked through. Stir in peas once out of the oven and let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

Notes: I liked the cumin flavor and the mixture of vegetables, with the peas being my favorite.

Servings: 6 entree sized servings or many more lunches.

 

Leave a Reply

