Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Broccoli Pesto Pasta and Asparagus June 24, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 9:07 am

I love pesto. I love pesto so much that when I made this recipe from 101cookbooks I couldn’t even wait to take a picture before Chris and I dug in. I switched out some of the recipe (asparagus for spinach and gluten free multi-colored quinoa pasta instead of whole wheat) but it still turned out very well.

1 medium head of broccoli – cut into small pieces
1/2 C. walnuts
1/3 C. parmesan cheese – grated
1 cloves young garlic
Juice of half a lemon
1/4 t. salt
1/3 C. extra virgin olive oil
1 box bite sized pasta (I used gluten free quinoa pasta on a whim)
1 bunch asparagus – ends broken off

Bring two pots of water to a boil, one for pasta and one for blanching broccoli and asparagus.

For the broccoli, salt the water once it is boiling and add broccoli in for 15 – 20 seconds. Scoop out with slotted spoon and run cold water over immediately to stop cooking. Bring water back to boil and toss in asparagus for about 1-2 minutes and then do the same with cold water to stop cooking.

Puree the broccoli with the walnuts, parmesan cheese, lemon juice and garlic. Slowly pour in the oil while pureeing in the food processor. Salt and pepper to taste.

Cook pasta as directed. In a large bowl mix pasta with broccoli pesto (about 3/4 of total pesto). Chop cooked asparagus into pieces and add in. Serve immediately.

Notes: Again, I love pesto. This was a great way to eat broccoli too, but of course cheese, nuts and oil make anything taste good.

Servings: 6 servings

 

One Response to “Broccoli Pesto Pasta and Asparagus”

  1. Kim Says:

    I made this tonight and it is delicious! I threw some halved cherry tomatoes into it after I mixed everything up too, which made it look really pretty for the 30 seconds it was in my eyeline before inhaling it.


Leave a Reply

