Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Dal Tacos June 12, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 7:40 am

After a week of decadent food, I’m now back in Chicago and am already enjoying my CSA and much healthier dinners. I pulled this recipe out of Vegetarian Times a couple months ago and finally made it. It’s very easy, fast, and filling as it has lentils. And healthy! Lentils and spinach!

1 onion – diced
1 t. ground cumin
3/4 t. ground turmeric
1/4 t. pepper
2/3 C. lentils
1/2 C. Greek yogurt
1/2 C. cucumber – diced
1 T. mint – chopped
Tortillas (I used corn b/c they are the only kind without transfats/hydrogenated oils at my little grocery store.)
1 C. spinach – cleaned well

Saute onion in a nonstick skillet in a little oil for about 5 minutes before adding the cumin, turmeric and pepper. Add lentils (sorted and cleaned) and 2.5 cups water. Bring to a boil and turn down to simmer. Cover and cook for 30-40 minutes or until lentils are cooked and there is just a little liquid in the pan.

Mix the yogurt, cucumbers and mint to make a yummy topping for the tacos. Place spinach on a tortilla, top with lentils and yogurt. Eat.

Notes: This recipe was not spicy enough for me. Next time I’ll increase the amount of cumin and turmeric I use. Other than that, I really enjoyed this meal.

Servings: 8 small tacos

 

Leave a Reply

