Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Bean and Cheese Pita March 13, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 7:59 am

bean-and-cheese-pita.jpg

After an event downtown on Tuesday I took the train home and read my April Bon Appetit.  I knew that I’d be getting home around 7 and I would not want to make a meal that took more than a half hour, because I was hungry. Flipping through the first section, reading the recipes that readers request from their favorite restaurants, I stumbled upon what initially sounded kind of gross. A bean and cheese sandwich.  Hmmm. Bean and cheese sandwich? But I read the recipe, thought about what I actually had on hand and decided to try it but instead of a sandwich, I’d make it on a pita. Less carbohydrates and sounds way better. I would link to the recipe but I can’t find it online.

1 onion – diced
1 t. cumin
3 cloves garlic – minced
1 can black beans
1 can garbanzo beans
4 pieces of pita
sliced manchego cheese
salsa

In a saute pan, cook the onion and garlic in a bit of oil. Add cumin along with the drained and rinsed beans. Cook for about 5-10 minutes or until the beans have been warmed through. Season with salt and pepper. Using a potato masher, mash the beans thoroughly into a spreadable paste.

Heat the oven to 350 and warm the pita bread on the rack for about 4-5 minutes until slightly crispy. Spread the bean mixture onto each pita (you will have left over beans). Place them all on a cookie sheet and top with grated manchego cheese. Turn the oven to broil and cook until the cheese is melted and slightly brown. Cut and top with your favorite salsa.

Notes: We ate this with a salad and some steamed green beans and it made for a very healthy, filling and fast meal. They were like mini pizzas of beans and cheese!

Servings: 4 pitas with extra beans left over

 

Leave a Reply

