Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Rice and Beans with an Egg March 11, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 7:50 am

beans-and-rice-with-egg.jpg

beans-and-rice-with-egg-2.jpg

It was Sunday afternoon. Our fridge was nearly empty and we only had cans and boxes of food, which lead me to the Goya brand box of rice and beans. I made some little additions to try and make this more than a meal from a box, but I was only moderately successful.

1 box rice and beans mix
1 package mushrooms – sliced
2 eggs

Put a pot of water on to boil as directed by the directions on the box. Add more water and toss in the sliced mushrooms. Simmer until cooked, making sure not to burn the bottom or let it dry out.

When the rice is almost finished, fry two eggs in a non-stick skillet. Top each serving of rice and beans with an egg. Consume.

Notes: I only buy these things because I know that sometimes, I just won’t feel like cooking. I’ve also added a can of extra beans or sliced up chicken sausage to this mix. It’s always just okay, as the mix has far too much sodium and additives.

Servings: 2 servings with leftovers (which I tossed). Glowing review, I know.

 

Leave a Reply

