Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Steel Cut Oats with Apples February 5, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:49 am

steel-cut-oats-with-apple.jpg

Oats are very good for you. They really DO help lower cholesterol.  Last year I went through a phase of eating oatmeal every morning. But I ended up getting sick of the packaged, instant oatmeal and switched to peanut butter toast. ANYway, I saw this recipe recently and thought I’d give steel cut oats a try.

1 cup steel cut oats
4 cups water
2 apples – diced
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
Dash of nutmeg and cloves

In a pot, mix together oats, water, apples and spices. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer for 30-45 minutes, until water is cooked into the oats.  Eat or put in the fridge to re-heat for breakfast.

Notes: I had my apple oats this morning for breakfast. I added a little water and heated in the microwave for 2 minutes. I sprinkled some splenda on top and mixed in. It was really really good people! Try it!

Servings: 4 + servings.

 

4 Responses to “Steel Cut Oats with Apples”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Between instant and steel cut, there’s an intermediate level of oatmeal.

    With thick-cut oats, sometimes called “old fashioned,” combine equal parts oats and water in an oversized bowl, microwave for three minutes, stir in brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, and banana slices or raisins, and let it cool for another three minutes, and optionally add a little water or milk if it’s too dry. Voila!

    It’s thicker, creamier and yummier than instant oatmeal, but done in six minutes so you can still have it for breakfast even on a somewhat busy morning.

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    Thanks Courtney. I’ve seen those around before but haven’t tried them. I’ll have to check them out soon!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I made this using the frozen steel cut oatmeal from Trader Joe’s. I just cut up the apples and mix them with cinnamon and nutmeg and put it in the microwave. It was delicious and all my co workers were asking what smelled so good! Thanks for the recipe. Yummy!!

  4. cookinghussy Says:

    I’m glad you made and enjoy them Lindsay! I also highly recommend the recipe with frozen cherries and vanilla extract. So good.


Leave a Reply

