Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Butternut Squash Curry January 19, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:43 pm

butternut-squash-curry.jpg

I bought a couple butternut squash and finally had time to make them last night.  I threw in some different vegetables along with a curry recipe I found online.  As I was cooking, I added some extra seasonings as it was a bit bland to start with. It turned out well and made a whole lot of curry.

1 Butternut Squash – peeled, seeded and sliced into small cubes
1 head of broccoli – cut into pieces
1 package mushrooms – cut into pieces
1 package firm tofu – cut into pieces and baked
1 1/2 can coconut milk
1 onion – peeled and rough chopped
1 inch piece of ginger – peeled and rough chopped
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp chili
1 tsp tumeric
Salt and pepper

Drain tofu and cut into pieces. Place on a cookie sheet, sprayed with oil, and bake for 20 + minutes at 350. I do this to help dry it out and help it keep its form in the curry.

In a food processor, mix onion, garlic, ginger, seasonings and mix until smooth. Put into a big pot and heat for about 2 minutes. Add the squash and other vegetables along with the coconut milk and heat. Simmer for 20-30 minutes until the squash is cooked. At this point I tasted the curry and added some more curry paste to bump up the flavor as it was a bit diluted.

Serve with rice!

Notes: I probably won’t go to the trouble to make the curry paste again as it wasn’t flavorful enough for me. This was a great use of butternut squash though, and I will include that in my curries again.

Servings: 5-6 servings

 

Leave a Reply

