Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Vegetable, Potato, Chorizo Soup January 17, 2008

Filed under: Soup/Stew — cookinghussy @ 8:58 am

vegetable-potato-chorizo-soup.jpg

This soup was made in half an hour and it made the whole apartment smell lovely. It tasted great too. Found this recipe on Serious Eats. As you can see, things are measured in ounces and grams, so I was making things up as I went. I can’t be bothered with a scale when making soup.

1 package chorizo (spanish style)
1 T. olive oil
1 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 stalks celery, sliced
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 box chicken broth
Large can of diced tomatoes
3-4 medium sized white skinned potatoes, diced
1 red and 1 green bell pepper, diced
1 T. tomato paste
2 bay leaves
Dried oregano and parsley
Salt and Pepper
1 cup corn kernels (I forgot to add this, but will definitely add it in next time)

Saute the chorizo in a large pot, no oil, until browned. Add onion, garlic and celery and a little oil and cook until onion is soft, about 5 minutes. Add cumin. Mix in the tomatoes, potatoes, stock, peppers, tomato paste and the rest of the herbs and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook for about 20 minutes until potatoes are tender. At this point you should add in the corn too.

Notes: This will be made again due to the wonderful flavor and the fast cooking process. And it makes a lot.

Servings: 6-7 big bowls

 

2 Responses to “Vegetable, Potato, Chorizo Soup”

  1. Linsval7 Says:

    Hi Kateri! It is Lindsay, Shea’s old roomie. I love your blog and just made this recipe. I loved it though I think I used to much chorizo. I can’t wait to try all your recipes!

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    Lindsay, so glad you like my blog and this recipe! I recommend you try the hard chorizo next time, which I’ve done since. You only need about one cup or less. So good!

    k


Leave a Reply

