Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Golden Brussels Sprouts January 4, 2008

Filed under: Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 11:00 am

golden-brussels-sprouts.jpg

Brussels Sprouts people! They are little nuggets of goodness, especially with a slight goldenness and Parmesan cheese.  I saw this recipe on 101cookbooks for Golden-Crusted Brussels Sprouts, but didn’t make as much. I should have made more as Chris and I gobbled them up.

15 small brussels sprouts
1 T. extra virgin olive oil plus extra for a light coating
salt and pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Clean and cut brussels sprouts in half. Make sure to rinse thoroughly to get any dirt off. In a bowl, toss sprouts with a little oil to cover slightly. Heat 1 T. oil in a large skillet. Don’t over heat as you don’t want to burn the bottom of the sprouts before they cook through. On medium low heat place the sprouts flat side down on the skillet, cover and cook for about 5 minutes until tender. The bottoms should show a little brown. Turn heat up and get a nice, caramelized brown on the bottoms. Turn the sprouts to brown a little on the rounded sides and season with salt and pepper. Top with cheese and serve.

Notes: Yum. Yum yum yum yum yum. I’ll make more next time. I took the picture just after tossing a little cheese on top, but it did melt quickly and tasted great.

Servings: 2 servings

 

4 Responses to “Golden Brussels Sprouts”

  1. Ninny Says:

    I LOVE Brussels sprouts! I am totally going to try these.

  2. Jarrod Says:

    Brussel sprouts – so good! Who knew? …besides the Belgians.

  3. Emily Says:

    I totally made these last night since I had a few leftover from last week (I steamed them with other veggies and tossed with lemon juice, olive oil, soy sauce and minced garlic). I used gruyere instead though, because I had some on hand. Still yummy!

  4. cookinghussy Says:

    Mmmm. Gruyere! I bet they tasted good.


Leave a Reply

