Cooking Hussy

Tasty

French Toast December 10, 2007

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 9:38 am

french-toast.jpg

Sunday morning I woke up and was craving some french toast. Luckily we had eggs so Chris and I enjoyed coffee and some yummy french toast.

4 slices whole grain with nuts bread
3 eggs
3 T. fat free milk
splash of vanilla extract
pinch of cinnamon

Whisk eggs with milk, extract and cinnamon with a little bit of salt. Melt a little butter in a non stick or cast iron skillet. Dip two pieces of bread into the egg mixture  and cook for about 3 minutes on each side, or until brown.  Serve with butter and a little syrup.

Notes: Alton Brown tells me I need to use bread that is slightly stale and I need to let it soak up the eggs. I then am supposed to brown each side in a pan and then bake the pieces of french toast in the oven to cook the center. This sounds lovely, but it’s never going to happen. Which is why I think this fast cooking and probably healthier (less eggs needed) version is just fine with me. Also, Chris really enjoyed the whole wheat and nutty bread used.

Servings: 2 servings

 

Leave a Reply

