Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Stir-fried Cauliflower with Peas & Ginger November 20, 2007

Filed under: Main Dish,Salad/Side,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 6:01 pm

indian-cauliflower-peas.jpg

I found this recipe while looking for lower carbohydrate meals that were still healthy and not overly heavy on meat. I have a cupboard full of spices and only had to buy one new spice for this dish (fennel seeds). It was a fast, easy and really tasty meal that I will build on when I make it again. I could at a lot more vetegables and even tofu to make it more of a meal.

3 T. canola oil
1 T. fennel seeds
1 T. coriander seeds (I used ground coriander)
1 teaspoon cumin seeds (I used ground cumin)
3 T. fresh ginger, finely grated
1/2 jalapeno pepper
1 large head of cauliflower, cored and cut into small florets
2 cups frozen green peas (do not thaw)
Salt
1 teaspoon garam masala

Toast the seeds about 2-3 minutes on high heat on a dry skillet. The only whole seed I used was fennel so that was the only spice I toasted. Grind and mix with the other spices. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add spices, jalapeno and ginger for about 1-2 minutes. Add in the cauliflower and cover, stiring every few minutes. Saute for about 8 minutes. Add the peas and salt and continue cooking until cauliflower is cooked. The pan started to dry out for me so I just added a little bit of water to help cook the cauliflower. Once the cauliflower is cooked through, add the garam masala on high heat and then eat.

Notes: Loved the flavor and how basic this dish was. I’d love to add to it with more vegetables and/or tofu.

Servings: 3-4 servings as a main meal

 

One Response to “Stir-fried Cauliflower with Peas & Ginger”

  1. […] inch non stick fry pan does everything for me. Caramelize tofu, saute spinach and brussels sprouts, cook cauliflower and peas, make the best skinny egg omelet and so […]


Leave a Reply

