Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Cocoa and Spice Slow-Roasted Pork with Onions November 19, 2007

Filed under: Main Dish — cookinghussy @ 11:15 am

pork-sliced.jpg

pork-shoulder-whole.jpg

Thank you, Bon Appetit, for introducing me to the wonderful world of pork shoulder butt!  I came across this recipe in the December 2007 edition and it looked amazing so I decided to step outside my comfort zone and try something new. I will definitely make this recipe again. I got a 5 pound hunk of meat from my local neighborhood butcher, Lincoln Quality Meat Market.  He came out with a whole side of pork, which I’ve never seen before, and asked me how much of the shoulder I wanted. I pointed to a spot, he started sawing into it and then brought out the clever and *thwack* I had my pork shoulder butt.

1/2 T. white pepper
1/2 T. ground coriander
2 T. plus 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 T. course sea salt
1 T. plus 2 1/4 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

6 T. extra virgin olive oil
3 onions (should have been 3 – 4 POUNDS of onions, oops)
1 1/2 T. thyme
1 1/2 cups water
1 5-pound pork shoulder butt with bone

Mix all spices and seasonings together. Sprinkle on a piece of tin foil and rub the pork in the spices. Make sure to cover all areas of the pork. Set pork on rack in large roasting pan.

Heat oil in large pot over medium heat. Add onions and thyme; sprikle with salt and pepper. Saute 10 minutes. Add 1 1/2 cups water; cover and cook until onions are soft, about 15 minutes. Uncover and continue cooking for about 30 minutes until onions begin to brown and water dissolves.

Top pork with onions and put the rest in the pan. Put pork and onions in the oven at 300 for about 6 hours. Roast until pork is very tender and thermometer inserted into center registers 165. Let pork rest before slicing so it holds onto its juices.

Notes: Wow. The smell and the first taste was unbelievable. This pork just barely fed 6 people. Next time I’ll make sure to get a larger piece, maybe 7 pounds for 6 people since the bones were significant.

Servings: 6 servings with Chris gnawing on the ribs at the end.

 

3 Responses to “Cocoa and Spice Slow-Roasted Pork with Onions”

  1. Chris Says:

    This was awesome! I would have gnawed all the ribs if not for dessert!

  2. Jarrod Says:

    the lqmm site says they make sandwiches! i gotta try that sometime…

    awesome meal, hussy!

  3. cookinghussy Says:

    Speaking of sandwiches, I originally thought there would be leftovers and that this pork would make awesome sandwiches. Next time!


Leave a Reply

