Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies November 4, 2007

Filed under: Dessert — cookinghussy @ 5:10 pm

chocolate-chip-cookies.jpg

This recipe came from Super Natural Cooking by Heidi Swanson, the author of 101cookbooks.com. It calls for Mesquite flour but I couldn’t find any at Whole Foods so I just used whole-wheat pastry flour instead. Best. Cookies. Ever.

3 1/2 cups whole-wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 cups natural cane sugar (I substituted 3/4 cup splenda and it still tasted great)
3 large eggs
1 T. pure vanilla extract (NOT imitation vanilla!!)
2 cups rolled oats
2 cups semisweet dark chocolate chips

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in bowl, set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Stir in vanilla. Add dry ingredients in increments. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips by hand. It was difficult but make sure oats and chips are mixed through.

Bake at 375 for 10 minutes, don’t over bake or the cookies will dry out.

Notes: YUM! I don’t make cookies often but these were great. I’d love to try it with mesquite flour.

Servings: Makes 48+ cookies!

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Shea Says:

    I can attest to the fact that these are delicious- I’ve eaten about a dozen today at work.

  2. Jarrod Says:

    I made a batch of these last night using fake vanilla and substituting 1:2 regular white and wheat flour cups for the pastry flour – they turned out well, I think! I brought along Oreos to the work picnic that I’d made the for, just in case, but the Oreos were not touched and people had multiple oatmeal cookies, so… Booyah.

    I do prefer raisins myself, and when I make these to keep at home I’ll use ’em instead of chocolate chips.


Leave a Reply

