Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Basic Stir-fry October 29, 2007

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 9:57 pm

stirfry.jpg

Tonight I made a very basic stir-fry and the only reason I’m posting a ‘recipe’ is because of the new way I prepared the tofu.  Normally I just toss the tofu into a stir-fry and it ends up crumbling up a bit.  I’ve read some different recipes that call for baking or even freezing tofu to change the texture. Tonight I baked it and really enjoyed the difference.

1/3 head cabbage, sliced
4 carrots, cut into matchsticks
1 head broccoli, cut into pieces
1 container tofu
Stir-fry sauce
Soy sauce

First I sliced the tofu thinly and pressed out the water with paper towels. I sprayed a cookie sheet with olive oil spray and placed the tofu on the sheet. I brushed soy sauce over the tofu, both sides, and baked it at 350 for about 15 minutes. I then flipped the tofu and brushed the other side with soy sauce again and continued to bake for another 10-15 minutes. I sauteed the vegetables in a hot skillet with the stir-fry sauce and added in the tofu which I’d sliced into matchsticks.

Notes: I like baked tofu!

Servings: 4-5

 

Leave a Reply

