Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Hummus October 24, 2007

Filed under: Appetizer,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:31 am

hummus.jpg

When I worked at the Chopping Block, one of the chefs gave me this fantastic hummus recipe and I’ve made it over and over again because it’s so easy and delicious. I haven’t experimented with any additions (roasted red pepper would be easy) because I like the original so much.

1 can garbanzo beans (drained and rinsed)
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup tahini
2-3 cloves garlic (depending on how much you like garlic)
1 tsp. cumin
Juice of one lemon
Salt and LOTS of freshly ground pepper

Throw everything into a food processor and mix away. Mix until smooth and creamy. I taste it then and add more salt/lemon juice/pepper/oil if I feel it needs it. Serve with fresh veggies, pita chips or put on toasted bread with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers. It should last in your fridge for about a week.

Notes: Next time I’ll try to break away and add in roasted red pepper.

 

One Response to “Hummus”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Yum! I am eating this right now. This is my new hummus recipe.


Leave a Reply

