Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Baked Pasta with Vegetables October 11, 2007

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 1:15 am

Baked Pasta with Vegetables

I got this recipe from watching Food Network and quickly scribbling down the recipe once I saw how easy it was. It was on Everyday Italian with Giada. I tend to use whatever vegetables are in season and would taste good with the dish.

1 sweet potato, chopped in small pieces
1 onion, chopped into big pieces
1 package of mushrooms, quartered
3 bell peppers (one red, two cubannelle peppers that came from our CSA today)
1-2 T. herbes de provence
1 package whole wheat penne pasta
3 cups marinara sauce
1 cup fontina cheese

(NOTE: The original recipe calls for 2 summer squash instead of sweet potato, 1 cup frozen peas which I just didn’t have tonight, and 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, which is just too much cheese for my taste.)

First throw all the vegetables on a cookie sheet sprayed with oil. Season with salt, pepper and herbes de provence and make sure all the vegetables are coated in oil. Roast for 15 minutes at 450. Next, boil and cook the pasta. Under cook it by a few minutes as it will continue to cook in the oven. Once the vegetables and pasta are ready, mix together with the cheese and marinara sauce. Put the pasta vegetable mixture into a casserole pan (the big size!) and bake for 25 minutes at 450.

Servings: 2 dinners and 4 lunches

 

5 Responses to “Baked Pasta with Vegetables”

  1. Emily Says:

    OOOOoooo this sounds good. Maybe I’ll make it on Sunday.

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    You should. And you should include the peas.

  3. Emily Says:

    I will! You know why? Because I love peas, that’s why!

  4. Emily Says:

    Made this tonight. It was great. Burnt the top a little bit…I think it’s because my veggies were huuuuge, so I probably should have upped the sauce quantity a bit. No biggie though, and for the most part it turned out great.

  5. cookinghussy Says:

    Yeah, I also wonder if the oven is too hot. Next time I may try 400 instead of


Leave a Reply

