Cooking Hussy

Tasty

Farinata September 30, 2008

Filed under: Main Dish,Vegetarian — cookinghussy @ 8:22 am

Alright, after two posts about desserts, it’s time to get back to what we normally eat. I made farinata, which is made with chickpea flour, water and oil and is an Italian snack or street food. But I made mine a little differently. Instead of looking like the picture in the recipe I used, it looks much thinner and softer. My excuse is that my cast iron skillet is not seasoned well and is definitely not non-stick, so I instead used a big ol’ cookie sheet and got very thin and soft farinata. But it was delicious anyway.

  • 1 1/4 C. chick pea flour (I found this in Whole Foods)
  • 1 1/2 C. water (maybe a bit more to get the consistency somewhere between whole milk and lite cream)
  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • 1/2 C. extra version olive oil
  • plenty of freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 sage leaves – thinly sliced

In a bowl mix together the chickpea flour, sage, salt and pepper. Slowly add the water while whisking the mixture. Let the batter rest for at least one hour. In order to cook in the cookie sheet, I looked around at other recipes for farinata and saw that I could then just mix in the olive oil, which I did. I sprayed a cookie sheet and pour the batter in after that. Bake at 425 for about 30 minutes. Slice into pieces and eat warm.

Notes: I served the farinata with chopped up fresh heirloom tomatoes mixed with some gratted parmesan cheese, salt/pepper and a little oil as well as sauted arugula with garlic. It was a filling and very flavorful meal! I would like to try it in the cast iron skillet the next time to get the thicker, crispy farinata.

Servings: 2 large dinner servings plus some extra

 

3 Responses to “Farinata”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    thanks for giving this a whirl! also, you may want to try and either keep it in the oven for just a bit longer next time OR maybe throw the broiler on for a few minutes to crisp up the top. get creative. the cast iron skillet will definitely make a difference b/c of the even heating, but don’t be afraid to add more heat w/ longer time in the over and/or the broiler. these look delish! almost like a cracker!

  2. cookinghussy Says:

    Thanks Jonathan. I’ll definitely try these again and bake a bit longer. I can’t wait to try them a bit crispier!

  3. [...] Liguria and Tuscany. Chickpea flour and oil and… you may cook the farinata almost as in Liguria and [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.